Google Keep, Keeps On Impressing…

It has been a few weeks since my last post about Google Keep, and I have to say it continues to be a go-to app for me.  If you haven’t tried it out, I truly encourage you to do so.

The thing I like is its simplicity.

I have added it as a pinned tab in my Chrome browser that opens up automatically when I open Chrome each day so that it is always a tab away.  That way when something pops into my head I can write it down quickly before the thought escapes me…(the number of seconds is getting less and less these days).

Here are some examples of types of lists, as well as some of the labels (categories) that I am using:

Samples of lists: Samples of Labels (Categories)
  • Our next staff meeting items
  • Daily/Weekly or Monthly Tasks
  • Tasks that are shared with our Vice Principal
  • list of things to discuss with Superintendent
  • Special Ed List
  • Health & Safety List
  • Notes about discipline
  • Phone calls
  • Newsletter Ideas
  • Furniture Orders
  • Things to post on our school Twitter site
  • Crisis Response
  • Custodian
  • Director
  • Feeder School Items
  • Newsletter
  • Parent Issue
  • Personal
  • Phonecalls
  • School
  • Senior Elementary Items
  • Twitter
  • WordPress

I have another list of some of the features that make it even more effective now that I’ve been using it for a few weeks too.  Try some of these out and let me know if you agree.

Features Shown:

  1. Start typing here to begin note.
  2. Click for checklist boxes.
  3. Insert Image into note.
  4. Click Palette to select colour.
  5. Add labels.
  6. Set a Reminder (on blue note reminder is by location)
  7. Share with someone else
  8. Speak into iOS app and have voice converted to text. (see video below)
  9. Archive notes when finished.

Try out these features using Google Keep in your Chrome browser.
Try out these features using Google Keep in your Chrome browser.

This video demonstrates how you can use the iOS Google Keep App to speak into your phone and have your voice transcribed into your note.  It will also add an audio file of what you said to the note.
Just click on the microphone icon.

If you find any other tricks please share them in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

